Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Lab Assistant
Original Poster
#1 Old 1st Jul 2006 at 5:48 PM Last edited by Emma_Barrett : 20th Aug 2006 at 5:01 PM.
Default Custom Careers for absolute beginners (NOW WITH PICS)
Custom careers a detailed guide to planning and building!

If you have downloaded BIDOU’s career editor this is not the tutorial for you (although it may help) as I’ve never used the career editor so cannot say how it is used!

YOU WILL NEED SimPE Blank career package which can be downloaded from the bottom of this thread

Ok so I’ve now created a custom career and messed about with it enough to understand what’s going on! If you want a full step by step with all the jargon and why it all works then this is not the tutorial for you but if you want a very basic guide which a beginner can easily follow this is what I’m aiming at! Attached to this thread at the bottom is a template (empty) career. I suggest you download this

1 open the template and just have a look at what’s in there without changing anything just to familiarize yourself with the contents.

2, The basis of your career
Close the file! We don’t need it yet! Open up good old Microsoft word or your own equivalent and begin. What we need to start is 10 job descriptions. You can have different ones for male and female but as this is your first career I recommend just using the same for both.
Each description needs a title and a short description for example:
Title Career writer
Description: you are now in charge of writing careers for Sims 2 

3, chance cards
The next part is a mammoth challenge. We need chance cards!
Still using word type up the following for your new career:
For chance cards we need 10 cards for male and 10 cards for female
(The easiest way is to use the same text just change all the “he” to “she” and the “his” to her … this consists of: