MTS has all free content, all the time. Find out how YOU can help to keep it running. Tell me how...

Clean And Empty Stealth Hood Templates

by Jawusa Posted 22nd Feb 2014 at 7:25 PM - Updated 15th Jan 2019 at 1:32 PM by Jawusa
166 Comments / replies (Who?) - 19 Feedback Posts, 4 Thanks Posts
Do you want to get rid of those Maxis families which always appear in your neighborhood's bin?
And you don't want to delete them because this corrupts your neighorbood?

Then this is something for you!
These stealth hoods don't contain any annoying universal families and NPCs...

I used Numenor's AnyGameStarter to create empty neighborhoods using an empty Anygame with no Maxis content.
I copied everything over with Mootilda's HoodReplace and if necessary, I copied the lots from the Maxis stealth hood into my stealth hood. (only Hobbies and Magic)

I had to copy the hobby lots and the witch lots because every neighborhood needs them.
That's why EA created a stealth hood for them but they filled it with unnecessary sims...

These stealth 'hoods have been thoroughly checked with Mootilda's HoodChecker and no errors have been found.
You also don't need all 5 expansion packs for 1 stealth hood.

The "Pets" stealth hood only requires The Sims 2 Pets
The "Weather" stealth hood only requires The Sims 2 Seasons
The "Exotic Destinations" stealth hood only requires The Sims 2 Bon Voyage
The "Hobbies" stealth hood only requires The Sims 2 Free Time
The "Magic" stealth hood only requires The Sims 2 Apartment Life

If you have all expansion packs, then you can download all 5 stealth hoods.

Before downloading,
Make sure you make a backup of your existing template first.
You may want the stealth families or NPCs back.

Note: These templates will ONLY affect new neighborhoods or neighborhoods that haven't been loaded yet. In short, neighborhoods that don't already have the original stealth hoods installed. Meaning, if you saw loading screens like "Create Pets"; "Create Weather"..., then these templates will not change anything but future neighborhoods!

To install them, put them to your install location...
By default, it is C:\Program Files\EA GAMES
If you have Sims 2 Ultimate Collection, it is C:\Program Files\Origin Games\The Sims 2 Ultimate Collection

Pets Stealth Hood (Pets)
Install instructions: Put the P001 folder in C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\The Sims 2 Pets\TSData\Res\NeighborhoodTemplate
If you have The Sims 2 Ultimate Collection: C:\Program Files\Origin Games\The Sims 2 Ultimate Collection\Fun with Pets\EP4\TSData\Res\NeighborhoodTemplate

Seasons Stealth Hood (Weather)
Install instructions: Put the G002 folder in C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\The Sims 2 Seasons\TSData\Res\NeighborhoodTemplate
If you have The Sims 2 Ultimate Collection: C:\Program Files\Origin Games\The Sims 2 Ultimate Collection\Seasons\TSData\Res\NeighborhoodTemplate

Bon Voyage Stealth Hood (Exotic Destinations)
Install instructions: Put the V001 folder in C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\The Sims 2 Bon Voyage\TSData\Res\NeighborhoodTemplate
If you have The Sims 2 Ultimate Collection: C:\Program Files\Origin Games\The Sims 2 Ultimate Collection\Bon Voyage\TSData\Res\NeighborhoodTemplate

Free Time Stealth Hood (Hobbies)
Install instructions: Put the F002 folder in in your C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\The Sims 2 Free Time\TSData\Res\NeighborhoodTemplate
If you have The Sims 2 Ultimate Collection: C:\Program Files\Origin Games\The Sims 2 Ultimate Collection\Free Time\TSData\Res\NeighborhoodTemplate

Apartment Life Stealth Hood (Magic)
Install instructions: Put the E002 in your C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\The Sims 2 Apartment Life\TSData\Res\NeighborhoodTemplate
If you have The Sims 2 Ultimate Collection: C:\Program Files\Origin Games\The Sims 2 Ultimate Collection\Apartment Life\TSData\Res\NeighborhoodTemplate

Update: 15th January 2019
For those who use Windows 10 and have difficulties with getting these templates to work.
If you see that the default sims still appear in your neighborhoods despite of installing these empty templates, please try the following.

Apparently, Windows 10 stores the default templates somewhere, which is why, the game still adds the characters to the neighborhoods.
Quote:
Originally Posted by somedaythesun
Windows 10 keeps a hidden copy of program files in a location called "virtual store." I'm not coding-literate, so I'm not sure why it's there, but my game didn't recognize your clean hoods until I copied over the stealth templates to this location


In order to fix this, go to C:\Users\Your Username\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\Program Files (x86)\EA GAMES
and install my templates there as well, just like in the normal Program Files. Thank you, somedaythesun for reporting this issue!

If you are confused, which file you should download...
Here's a better view of it:

- P001 is the stealth hood which came with The Sims 2 Pets
- G002 is the stealth hood which came with The Sims 2 Seasons
- V001 is the stealth hood which came with The Sims 2 Bon Voyage
- F002 is the stealth hood which came with The Sims 2 Free Time
- E002 is the stealth hood which came with The Sims 2 Apartment Life

Additional Credits:
Thanks to:
- Numenor for the AnyGameStarter - without him, I had to deinstall all of my EPs and I wasn't able to create an empty neighborhood
- Mootilda for her HoodReplace and Hood Checker - without her, I wouldn't be able to do anything. Changing 'hood's ID to stealth, copy everything from one neighborhood to another and checking for issues...
She was the most helpful one here. Thank you very much!
- somedaythesun for reporting the Windows 10 issue

You must have the expansion or stuff packs listed below installed to use this custom content. Please see the post text for any exceptions.

Sims 2 Pets Seasons Bon Voyage Free Time Apartment Life
Key: - File was updated after upload was posted
Filename - Tip: You can click the magnifying glass to see the archive contents Size Downloads Date
G002.rar | "Weather" without any characters

Size: 158.3 KB · Downloads: 16,989 · 22nd Feb 2014
158.3 KB 16,989 22nd Feb 2014
P001.rar | "Pets" without any characters

Size: 186.8 KB · Downloads: 17,120 · 22nd Feb 2014
186.8 KB 17,120 22nd Feb 2014
E002.rar | "Magic" without any characters BUT with lots

Size: 2.20 MB · Downloads: 20,364 · 22nd Feb 2014
2.20 MB 20,364 22nd Feb 2014
F002.rar | "Hobbies" without any characters BUT with lots

Size: 4.70 MB · Downloads: 20,172 · 22nd Feb 2014
4.70 MB 20,172 22nd Feb 2014
V001.rar | "Exotic Destinations" without any characters

Size: 187.6 KB · Downloads: 17,303 · 22nd Feb 2014
187.6 KB 17,303 22nd Feb 2014
Don't forget to Thank the creator after downloading! Use the Thanks button located above the screenshots above.
Basic Download and Install Instructions:

1. Download: Click the download link to save the .rar or .zip file(s) to your computer.

2. Extract the zip, rar, or 7z file.

3. Place in Downloads Folder: Cut and paste the .package file(s) into your Downloads folder:
  • Origin (Ultimate Collection): Users\(Current User Account)\Documents\EA Games\The Sims™ 2 Ultimate Collection\Downloads\
  • Non-Origin, Windows Vista/7/8/10: Users\(Current User Account)\Documents\EA Games\The Sims 2\Downloads\
  • Non-Origin, Windows XP: Documents and Settings\(Current User Account)\My Documents\EA Games\The Sims 2\Downloads\
  • Mac: Users\(Current User Account)\Documents\EA Games\The Sims 2\Downloads
  • Mac x64: /Library/Containers/com.aspyr.sims2.appstore/Data/Library/Application Support/Aspyr/The Sims 2/Downloads
Need more information?
 
166 Comments / Replies (Who?) - 107 Feedback Posts, 46 Thanks Posts
Hide Thanks Posts for this thread (Show only feedback)
Page 5 of 7
Lab Assistant
THANKS POST
#101 Old 4th Nov 2016 at 7:23 PM
Thank you! I'm tired of seeing the same people.
Scholar
#102 Old 5th Dec 2016 at 11:59 AM
NOTE to Windows 7 users! I first couldn't get it to work even though I followed all these instructions, but just as I was about to write an angry comment, I saw this: http://sims.wikia.com/wiki/Game_gui...an_neighborhood - Read at the bottom of the page for what you also need to do! You need to delete a folder from VirtualStore.

And now it works like a charm!!! Thank you for this upload. :D
Field Researcher
#103 Old 27th Jan 2017 at 10:20 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pideli
NOTE to Windows 7 users! I first couldn't get it to work even though I followed all these instructions, but just as I was about to write an angry comment, I saw this: http://sims.wikia.com/wiki/Game_gui...an_neighborhood - Read at the bottom of the page for what you also need to do! You need to delete a folder from VirtualStore.

And now it works like a charm!!! Thank you for this upload. :D


Pideli or anyone else who knows, please share information about deleting a folder from VirtualStore. I followed Pideli's link but I cannot make head nor tail of the instructions.

I feel I have the same problem as Pideli - I am trying to have empty neighbourhoods in Windows 10. I followed every step carefully but I am still getting townies, even with new empty templates installed and hacks installed.

If someone could please shine a light on the "Virtual Store" issue raised by Pideli I would be most grateful
Lab Assistant
THANKS POST
#104 Old 15th Jun 2017 at 8:21 AM
Thanks!
Instructor
#105 Old 6th Oct 2017 at 7:36 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Airelda
If someone could please shine a light on the "Virtual Store" issue raised by Pideli I would be most grateful


I can't quite follow those instructions, either. It's okay up to "you see a file called Virtual Store, open it", but after that it doesn't apply any more:
"First, set up you as the owner of the folder and set it to "read only"/write protected. Second, delete the EA Folder in there. "

There is no EA Folder in the "Virtual Store" folder.

Well, I'll try my luck as it is and hope that I'll get a nice, empty neighbourhood for once. Thank you very much for creating these!

"I hate to tell you this..." is a dreadful way to start a sentence. Don't do something you hate to do for my sake, I'm not that important.
Scholar
#106 Old 6th Oct 2017 at 8:52 PM
If you're using Windows 10, I'm afraid I can't help you. I have never tried Win10, not interested either. You'll probably find someone to help you in the help forum!
Inventor
#107 Old 28th Feb 2018 at 10:35 PM
I just came across this and I'm anxious to add this to my game when I get it reinstalled, no more Ottomans! Thank you for making this!

But I have a question, sorry if this is a little obvious (I'm still kind of new here): will this affect the University students in the family bin? I've grown attached to a few over the years and I just wanted to know is this will remove them too.
Test Subject
THANKS POST
#108 Old 4th Mar 2018 at 4:58 AM
Absolute lifesaver. Thank you. ♥
Test Subject
DELETED POST
10th Apr 2018 at 5:02 PM
This message has been deleted by xoxoquana. Reason: I did everything correct and deleted in the virtual store folder but they're still swhowing up when i make new towns. was I s
Lab Assistant
#109 Old 1st May 2018 at 9:03 PM
This has taken me a while but have had to remove my old neighbourhoods due to corruption - and having way too many sims in my legacy! Wanted to start from scratch so have removed all neighbourhoods. Did a re-install of your Pets template after removing neighbourhoods. Now to see if this has worked...
Lab Assistant
#110 Old 1st May 2018 at 9:39 PM Last edited by simguru1player : 1st May 2018 at 10:59 PM.
Have tried everything, including renaming my Documents EA Games folder to EA Games backup and regenerating a new EA Games folder. All the other main and stealth hood families are gone fine but the Pets ones persist, both the family bin ones and the occupied lots families... They are impossible to get rid of, seemingly.

I also checked the P001 folder in the C:\Program Files (x86)\EA GAMES\The Sims 2 Pets\TSData\Res\NeighborhoodTemplate folder and it is empty. For some reason, my game is still pulling their data from somewhere... Wish I knew where.

If anyone has managed to fix this, could you please let me know? Many thanks.
Trainee Moderator
staff: trainee moderator
Original Poster
#111 Old 5th May 2018 at 6:28 PM
@simguru1player

Place your backups outside the game folder... e.g. on desktop
Delete your P001 folder entirely and re-download it again.
Report me how it went.

By the way, this doesn't affect previously exisiting neighborhoods which had the Pets stealth hood already installed.

Catalogue of Custom Neighborhoods for TS2
All Hood Building Group neighborhoods are available here
Want to get rid of EA's sims in neighborhoods? Check out my Clean and Empty Steatlh Hoods and Clean and Empty Neighborhood Templates
My Simblr
Test Subject
DELETED POST
6th Jun 2018 at 2:32 AM
This message has been deleted by xoSMASHxo.
Lab Assistant
#112 Old 4th Jul 2018 at 8:42 PM
Thanks for your reply and sorry I have taken so long to get back - things have been somewhat hectic in real life... I am trying your method tonight so will let you know.
Lab Assistant
#113 Old 4th Jul 2018 at 9:14 PM
Doh! They are still there. That is with the back-up folder being moved. I will just make them townies/adopties.
Trainee Moderator
staff: trainee moderator
Original Poster
#114 Old 5th Jul 2018 at 9:44 PM
@simguru1player

Again, are you trying to remove them from an already existing neighborhood? Then, this doesn't work. It only works for new neighborhoods, and with new, I mean the neighborhoods you've created after installing this mod. You can remove the Neighborhoods folder if you want to reset EA's neighborhoods.

Catalogue of Custom Neighborhoods for TS2
All Hood Building Group neighborhoods are available here
Want to get rid of EA's sims in neighborhoods? Check out my Clean and Empty Steatlh Hoods and Clean and Empty Neighborhood Templates
My Simblr
Test Subject
#115 Old 4th Aug 2018 at 5:06 PM
Hi Jawusa!
I have two questions, and I really hope you can answer them for me.

I just recently installed the Ultimate Collection after many years of not playing. I don't feel like playing the Maxis' neighborhoods, so I want to create my own. If I download these templates, and play my new 'hood, but then later decide to play, for instance, Riverblossom Hills, and I want the Maxis families and NPCs from Seasons back, can I then just add old stealth hood template from Seasons? Or will using your stealth hoods erease the Maxis families and NPCs for good? I don't mind the game autogenerating NPCs and townies, I just don't want the same NPCs and townies for every neighborhood, you know.

Also, I've read that adding -bak to the N001 file will prevent the Pleasantview NPCs and townies to be added to new custom 'hoods. So once I've created my new hood, and it has been loaded, can I remove the -bak part, or will they (the Pleasantview NPCs and townies) be generated once I open the 'hood again?

I'm really bad at words, so let me know, if I need to rephrase anything.
Thanks, and have a great day!
Trainee Moderator
staff: trainee moderator
Original Poster
#116 Old 9th Aug 2018 at 2:20 PM
@Lucas27

Yes, you can. There are no restrictions whatsoever when it comes to installing/uninstalling these neighborhood templates.
As for the -bak part, yes, that will disable the default townies and NPCs from being spawned. However, if you remove the -bak part, the townies/NPCs won't come back. The game will use the custom ones instead.

Catalogue of Custom Neighborhoods for TS2
All Hood Building Group neighborhoods are available here
Want to get rid of EA's sims in neighborhoods? Check out my Clean and Empty Steatlh Hoods and Clean and Empty Neighborhood Templates
My Simblr
Test Subject
#117 Old 11th Sep 2018 at 3:33 PM
How would I install these on Mac?
Trainee Moderator
staff: trainee moderator
Original Poster
#118 Old 2nd Oct 2018 at 11:09 PM
@c0wp1ant

It's pretty much the same... just go into your install location and then, you go into \TSData\Res\NeighborhoodTemplate
Not sure how "Program Files" is called on a Mac... maybe Applications? I think you should find it in the Finder.

Catalogue of Custom Neighborhoods for TS2
All Hood Building Group neighborhoods are available here
Want to get rid of EA's sims in neighborhoods? Check out my Clean and Empty Steatlh Hoods and Clean and Empty Neighborhood Templates
My Simblr
Forum Resident
THANKS POST
#119 Old 6th Oct 2018 at 8:12 PM
omg this is so handy, thank you for this ;-)
Test Subject
#120 Old 4th Jan 2019 at 4:47 PM Last edited by Llama_Face : 6th Jan 2019 at 12:44 AM.
So I installed the Apartment Life, Bon Voyage and the Free Time templates according to instructions and it worked like a charm in my fresh new neighborhood. However, as I opened one of my already made neighborhoods I was getting the "creating weather/magic/pets etc" loading screen (I wasn't entirely looking at the screen once they showed up so I'm not sure what exactly was being created.) But once the hood loaded up I noticed copies of the families in the family bin that I had already placed in the hood. (Ramaswami and Ottomas). Any idea what may have caused this and how to prevent it from happening with any other already started hoods?
Trainee Moderator
staff: trainee moderator
Original Poster
#121 Old 4th Jan 2019 at 6:03 PM
@Llama_Face

This set is only applicable to new neighborhoods; meaning, neighborhoods that have never been played before.
If you want to erase the family bin families from the pre-made neigborhoods, too, then you have to reset your neighborhoods.

http://simswiki.info/wiki.php?title...t_Neighborhoods

Catalogue of Custom Neighborhoods for TS2
All Hood Building Group neighborhoods are available here
Want to get rid of EA's sims in neighborhoods? Check out my Clean and Empty Steatlh Hoods and Clean and Empty Neighborhood Templates
My Simblr
Test Subject
#122 Old 4th Jan 2019 at 6:53 PM
The thing is I had already played in that neighborhood before I installed the templates yet I was getting the same loading screens as you should get when creating a new hood. So there should be no reason for them to reappear?
Field Researcher
#123 Old 5th Jan 2019 at 9:16 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Llama_Face
The thing is I had already played in that neighborhood before I installed the templates yet I was getting the same loading screens as you should get when creating a new hood. So there should be no reason for them to reappear?


When you create a new neighborhood, the game is essentially just copying files from its Program Files directories to your new neighborhood folder (in Documents). These clean templates mean the game still copies those folders, but they are most or entirely blank, which prevents your clean, shiny new neighborhood from filling up with unnecessary characters and other crap.

Jawusa can correct me if I'm wrong, since he made the templates, of course.
Page 5 of 7