MTS has all free content, all the time. Find out how YOU can help to keep it running. Tell me how...

Clean And Empty Stealth Hood Templates

by Jawusa Posted 22nd Feb 2014 at 7:25 PM - Updated 15th Jan 2019 at 1:32 PM by Jawusa
166 Comments / replies (Who?) - 15 Feedback Posts, 7 Thanks Posts
Do you want to get rid of those Maxis families which always appear in your neighborhood's bin?
And you don't want to delete them because this corrupts your neighorbood?

Then this is something for you!
These stealth hoods don't contain any annoying universal families and NPCs...

I used Numenor's AnyGameStarter to create empty neighborhoods using an empty Anygame with no Maxis content.
I copied everything over with Mootilda's HoodReplace and if necessary, I copied the lots from the Maxis stealth hood into my stealth hood. (only Hobbies and Magic)

I had to copy the hobby lots and the witch lots because every neighborhood needs them.
That's why EA created a stealth hood for them but they filled it with unnecessary sims...

These stealth 'hoods have been thoroughly checked with Mootilda's HoodChecker and no errors have been found.
You also don't need all 5 expansion packs for 1 stealth hood.

The "Pets" stealth hood only requires The Sims 2 Pets
The "Weather" stealth hood only requires The Sims 2 Seasons
The "Exotic Destinations" stealth hood only requires The Sims 2 Bon Voyage
The "Hobbies" stealth hood only requires The Sims 2 Free Time
The "Magic" stealth hood only requires The Sims 2 Apartment Life

If you have all expansion packs, then you can download all 5 stealth hoods.

Before downloading,
Make sure you make a backup of your existing template first.
You may want the stealth families or NPCs back.

Note: These templates will ONLY affect new neighborhoods or neighborhoods that haven't been loaded yet. In short, neighborhoods that don't already have the original stealth hoods installed. Meaning, if you saw loading screens like "Create Pets"; "Create Weather"..., then these templates will not change anything but future neighborhoods!

To install them, put them to your install location...
By default, it is C:\Program Files\EA GAMES
If you have Sims 2 Ultimate Collection, it is C:\Program Files\Origin Games\The Sims 2 Ultimate Collection

Pets Stealth Hood (Pets)
Install instructions: Put the P001 folder in C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\The Sims 2 Pets\TSData\Res\NeighborhoodTemplate
If you have The Sims 2 Ultimate Collection: C:\Program Files\Origin Games\The Sims 2 Ultimate Collection\Fun with Pets\EP4\TSData\Res\NeighborhoodTemplate

Seasons Stealth Hood (Weather)
Install instructions: Put the G002 folder in C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\The Sims 2 Seasons\TSData\Res\NeighborhoodTemplate
If you have The Sims 2 Ultimate Collection: C:\Program Files\Origin Games\The Sims 2 Ultimate Collection\Seasons\TSData\Res\NeighborhoodTemplate

Bon Voyage Stealth Hood (Exotic Destinations)
Install instructions: Put the V001 folder in C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\The Sims 2 Bon Voyage\TSData\Res\NeighborhoodTemplate
If you have The Sims 2 Ultimate Collection: C:\Program Files\Origin Games\The Sims 2 Ultimate Collection\Bon Voyage\TSData\Res\NeighborhoodTemplate

Free Time Stealth Hood (Hobbies)
Install instructions: Put the F002 folder in in your C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\The Sims 2 Free Time\TSData\Res\NeighborhoodTemplate
If you have The Sims 2 Ultimate Collection: C:\Program Files\Origin Games\The Sims 2 Ultimate Collection\Free Time\TSData\Res\NeighborhoodTemplate

Apartment Life Stealth Hood (Magic)
Install instructions: Put the E002 in your C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\The Sims 2 Apartment Life\TSData\Res\NeighborhoodTemplate
If you have The Sims 2 Ultimate Collection: C:\Program Files\Origin Games\The Sims 2 Ultimate Collection\Apartment Life\TSData\Res\NeighborhoodTemplate

Update: 15th January 2019
For those who use Windows 10 and have difficulties with getting these templates to work.
If you see that the default sims still appear in your neighborhoods despite of installing these empty templates, please try the following.

Apparently, Windows 10 stores the default templates somewhere, which is why, the game still adds the characters to the neighborhoods.
Quote:
Originally Posted by somedaythesun
Windows 10 keeps a hidden copy of program files in a location called "virtual store." I'm not coding-literate, so I'm not sure why it's there, but my game didn't recognize your clean hoods until I copied over the stealth templates to this location


In order to fix this, go to C:\Users\Your Username\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\Program Files (x86)\EA GAMES
and install my templates there as well, just like in the normal Program Files. Thank you, somedaythesun for reporting this issue!

If you are confused, which file you should download...
Here's a better view of it:

- P001 is the stealth hood which came with The Sims 2 Pets
- G002 is the stealth hood which came with The Sims 2 Seasons
- V001 is the stealth hood which came with The Sims 2 Bon Voyage
- F002 is the stealth hood which came with The Sims 2 Free Time
- E002 is the stealth hood which came with The Sims 2 Apartment Life

Additional Credits:
Thanks to:
- Numenor for the AnyGameStarter - without him, I had to deinstall all of my EPs and I wasn't able to create an empty neighborhood
- Mootilda for her HoodReplace and Hood Checker - without her, I wouldn't be able to do anything. Changing 'hood's ID to stealth, copy everything from one neighborhood to another and checking for issues...
She was the most helpful one here. Thank you very much!
- somedaythesun for reporting the Windows 10 issue

You must have the expansion or stuff packs listed below installed to use this custom content. Please see the post text for any exceptions.

Sims 2 Pets Seasons Bon Voyage Free Time Apartment Life
Key: - File was updated after upload was posted
Filename - Tip: You can click the magnifying glass to see the archive contents Size Downloads Date
G002.rar | "Weather" without any characters

Size: 158.3 KB · Downloads: 17,032 · 22nd Feb 2014
158.3 KB 17,032 22nd Feb 2014
P001.rar | "Pets" without any characters

Size: 186.8 KB · Downloads: 17,165 · 22nd Feb 2014
186.8 KB 17,165 22nd Feb 2014
E002.rar | "Magic" without any characters BUT with lots

Size: 2.20 MB · Downloads: 20,423 · 22nd Feb 2014
2.20 MB 20,423 22nd Feb 2014
F002.rar | "Hobbies" without any characters BUT with lots

Size: 4.70 MB · Downloads: 20,224 · 22nd Feb 2014
4.70 MB 20,224 22nd Feb 2014
V001.rar | "Exotic Destinations" without any characters

Size: 187.6 KB · Downloads: 17,343 · 22nd Feb 2014
187.6 KB 17,343 22nd Feb 2014
Don't forget to Thank the creator after downloading! Use the Thanks button located above the screenshots above.
Basic Download and Install Instructions:

1. Download: Click the download link to save the .rar or .zip file(s) to your computer.

2. Extract the zip, rar, or 7z file.

3. Place in Downloads Folder: Cut and paste the .package file(s) into your Downloads folder:
  • Origin (Ultimate Collection): Users\(Current User Account)\Documents\EA Games\The Sims™ 2 Ultimate Collection\Downloads\
  • Non-Origin, Windows Vista/7/8/10: Users\(Current User Account)\Documents\EA Games\The Sims 2\Downloads\
  • Non-Origin, Windows XP: Documents and Settings\(Current User Account)\My Documents\EA Games\The Sims 2\Downloads\
  • Mac: Users\(Current User Account)\Documents\EA Games\The Sims 2\Downloads
  • Mac x64: /Library/Containers/com.aspyr.sims2.appstore/Data/Library/Application Support/Aspyr/The Sims 2/Downloads
Need more information?
 
166 Comments / Replies (Who?) - 107 Feedback Posts, 46 Thanks Posts
Hide Thanks Posts for this thread (Show only feedback)
Page 6 of 7
Test Subject
#126 Old 6th Jan 2019 at 12:43 AM Last edited by Llama_Face : 8th Jan 2019 at 9:23 PM.
@Jawusa @::Giggles::
So are these templates incompatible with old neighborhoods? Because the way I understood it, they should not affect already played hoods only new ones that you start from scratch? So I don't understand where the extra copies of Ramaswami and Ottomas in the family bin came from. (Sorry if I sound repetitive)

I removed the clean templates from my files and replaced them back with the original templates but when I loaded another of my already played neighborhoods (Desiderata Valley) it too had Ramaswami and Ottomas copies in the family bin just like the first hood I mentioned in my first post.

Edit: I have now noticed that not only did I get duplicates of sims in the family bin but the hoods are also suffering from duplicates of the same townies. I may have messed up bad.

Update - I restored one of my hoods containing the duplicate families and townies with an old backup and downloaded and installed the Seasons/weather template. I loaded up two of my already played hoods and none of which showed any "creating" loading screens neither did they have any duplicates. Seems like the issue might have been resolved for now. Still gonna keep my eyes peeled for any "doppelganger" sims.
Field Researcher
#127 Old 13th Jan 2019 at 4:39 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Llama_Face
@Jawusa @::Giggles::
So are these templates incompatible with old neighborhoods? Because the way I understood it, they should not affect already played hoods only new ones that you start from scratch? So I don't understand where the extra copies of Ramaswami and Ottomas in the family bin came from. (Sorry if I sound repetitive)

I removed the clean templates from my files and replaced them back with the original templates but when I loaded another of my already played neighborhoods (Desiderata Valley) it too had Ramaswami and Ottomas copies in the family bin just like the first hood I mentioned in my first post.

Edit: I have now noticed that not only did I get duplicates of sims in the family bin but the hoods are also suffering from duplicates of the same townies. I may have messed up bad.

Update - I restored one of my hoods containing the duplicate families and townies with an old backup and downloaded and installed the Seasons/weather template. I loaded up two of my already played hoods and none of which showed any "creating" loading screens neither did they have any duplicates. Seems like the issue might have been resolved for now. Still gonna keep my eyes peeled for any "doppelganger" sims.


No, these templates do not affect previously created games. Again, the way the game works, templates are only ever used once by the game when you first create a new hood. It does not reference the files again.

I googled your problem and came up with this:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mootilda
This will happen if the game believes that it has not yet added one or more of the subhoods, especially the stealth subhoods. It will just keep adding the stealth subhoods until the flags are correctly set and the correct packages are in place.

I've seen this before in downloaded neighborhoods and, as far as I can tell, it's an indication that something is wrong with your save game. You probably have a lot more duplicate sims; they're just not as obvious as the family bin sims.

If you have a backup of your save game which does not have these duplicate families, I would strongly recommend that you restore from that backup.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have some theories about how this could happen. They would require research to determine which ones actually cause this symptom:


The duplicates may have been caused if you somehow tried to modify the stealth hoods in a main neighborhood after the game had already created them for that neighborhood.
Trainee Moderator
staff: trainee moderator
Original Poster
#128 Old 15th Jan 2019 at 1:35 PM
@Llama_Face
Do you use Windows 10? If yes, this issue might explain your problem.

Try re-installing the neighborhood templates.
Also, have a look into your C:\Users\Your Username\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\Program Files (x86)\EA GAMES

Apparently, Windows 10 creates a secret copy of your files, which have to be replaced as well in order for this to work.

Catalogue of Custom Neighborhoods for TS2
All Hood Building Group neighborhoods are available here
Want to get rid of EA's sims in neighborhoods? Check out my Clean and Empty Steatlh Hoods and Clean and Empty Neighborhood Templates
My Simblr
Test Subject
#129 Old 17th Jan 2019 at 1:56 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jawusa
@Llama_Face
Do you use Windows 10? If yes, this issue might explain your problem.

Try re-installing the neighborhood templates.
Also, have a look into your C:\Users\Your Username\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\Program Files (x86)\EA GAMES

Apparently, Windows 10 creates a secret copy of your files, which have to be replaced as well in order for this to work.


Nope I use Windows 8.1. But I'll probably take a deeper look into this over the weekend.

@::Giggles:: Thank you for your help! From what I know, I did not modify the hoods at all other than installing the stealth hoods but my game's symptoms does sound similar to Mootilda's theories.
Trainee Moderator
staff: trainee moderator
Original Poster
#130 Old 18th Jan 2019 at 12:52 PM
@Llama_Face

I think the technique is also true for Windows 8.1
It's the newer versions which create this extra folder.

Catalogue of Custom Neighborhoods for TS2
All Hood Building Group neighborhoods are available here
Want to get rid of EA's sims in neighborhoods? Check out my Clean and Empty Steatlh Hoods and Clean and Empty Neighborhood Templates
My Simblr
Test Subject
#131 Old 20th Jan 2019 at 7:27 PM
I did a thorough search in my appdata for any extra files but I found none. However I reinstalled the hood templates and finally for the first time, no copies or duplicate sims!! I'm not sure what I did different from the last time but now all my wanted sims are where they're supposed to be and my unwanted sims are gone. Thank you so much for the help!
Test Subject
THANKS POST
#132 Old 30th Mar 2019 at 3:58 PM
Thank you for this, so glad I can easily avoid all the extras I don't want!
Test Subject
DELETED POST
3rd Apr 2019 at 7:39 PM
This message has been deleted by onyxcrow.
Test Subject
THANKS POST
#133 Old 4th Apr 2019 at 5:52 PM
Thank you very very much!!!
Test Subject
THANKS POST
#134 Old 6th Apr 2019 at 8:46 AM
Thank you! hopefully I'll be able to get rid of those pesky townies
Test Subject
#135 Old 19th Apr 2019 at 6:15 AM
sorry, i didn't get this. you said you only copied the lots for hobbies and magic. why not the secret lots of the exotic destinations? will my sims still be able to go there and find the lots with the original buildings and stuff on them and meet the corresponding npcs in place, like bigfoot etc?
Trainee Moderator
staff: trainee moderator
Original Poster
#136 Old 23rd Apr 2019 at 10:12 PM
@ptdrummer

The secret BV lots are in the vacation subhoods themselves, not in the stealth hood.
So, if you add Three Lakes to the neighborhood, you're also adding the Hidden Burrow lot to your neighborhood.

Only the Magic and Hobbies subhoods have lots in them. All the other stealth hoods are empty. (I obviously had a look into the secret neighborhoods, so I know which one has lots in them. lol)

Catalogue of Custom Neighborhoods for TS2
All Hood Building Group neighborhoods are available here
Want to get rid of EA's sims in neighborhoods? Check out my Clean and Empty Steatlh Hoods and Clean and Empty Neighborhood Templates
My Simblr
Test Subject
DELETED POST
1st Jun 2019 at 5:37 AM
This message has been deleted by alterno. Reason: remembered that meetme2theriver has clean versions
Test Subject
THANKS POST
#137 Old 16th Jun 2019 at 5:01 AM
Thank you sososo much for this upload! Everything from the last decade that's available online is too outdated to be accessible!
Test Subject
DELETED POST
4th Jul 2019 at 5:28 PM Last edited by featherlullaby : 4th Jul 2019 at 6:22 PM.
This message has been deleted by featherlullaby.
Lab Assistant
#138 Old 7th Jul 2019 at 9:04 PM
Oooh finally not the same families anymore, thanks!

I only got one problem now: my game apparently only generates male sims. The only females I've encountered thus far are the base game townies, the Countess and an appartment landlord (landlady?). I do like townies (and the variation I can get now), but all male is a bit too much - the hood census from ACR showed 131 males and 81 females I already tried selecting the random gender setting from the NPC townie maker from the boolprop cheat: I selected it within a new test neighbourhood before the game would generate new townies (in an appartment). However I still got only male appartment residents, including potential roommates . I got the same result when I created another test neighbourhood without my huge downloads folder, so the problem is not custom content-related. Any idea what might be the cause?
Trainee Moderator
staff: trainee moderator
Original Poster
#139 Old 30th Jul 2019 at 12:52 AM
@Simone95
Sorry for the late answer, I haven't been here for some time...

That's odd. I've never seen such a case where only males are selected for townie generation. I'm afraid I don't know what the cause is. Have you tried posting your issue in the Help section?
I doubt it is related to empty templates.

Catalogue of Custom Neighborhoods for TS2
All Hood Building Group neighborhoods are available here
Want to get rid of EA's sims in neighborhoods? Check out my Clean and Empty Steatlh Hoods and Clean and Empty Neighborhood Templates
My Simblr
Test Subject
THANKS POST
#140 Old 3rd Aug 2019 at 6:24 AM
Exactly what I needed.
Lab Assistant
#141 Old 18th Aug 2019 at 7:58 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jawusa
@Simone95
Sorry for the late answer, I haven't been here for some time...

That's odd. I've never seen such a case where only males are selected for townie generation. I'm afraid I don't know what the cause is. Have you tried posting your issue in the Help section?
I doubt it is related to empty templates.

No problem, you're a volunteer/fan, not an employee

I could indeed post my problem there when I got more time to check answers: I doubt it is related to your templates too, it's just that with your templates the problem becomes visible, so I hoped others might have seen it too Thanks for the tip!
Test Subject
#142 Old 28th Nov 2019 at 12:02 AM Last edited by CataSweetSunshine : 28th Nov 2019 at 12:50 AM.
Hi, I need help. When I go to the Users/AppData/ProgramsFilesx86 it just appear Electronic Arts, not EA Games and it worries me a lot. What can I do?When I go in game the hoods I download from here doesn't work because the families in the bin keeps appearing ):

Does someone has a Discord Server (the creator) or Twitter perhaps? I don’t usually log in here, so please reach me out at least through email : applegirl2807@hotmail.com So I can explain you better cause seriously I want to install this the right way.
Trainee Moderator
staff: trainee moderator
Original Poster
#143 Old 6th Dec 2019 at 7:47 PM
@CataSweetSunshine

Do you have any collection packs installed? Maybe that is why you get the Electronic Arts instead of EA Games.
As long as you see that there's a The Sims 2 folder, there shouldn't be any difference.

Catalogue of Custom Neighborhoods for TS2
All Hood Building Group neighborhoods are available here
Want to get rid of EA's sims in neighborhoods? Check out my Clean and Empty Steatlh Hoods and Clean and Empty Neighborhood Templates
My Simblr
Lab Assistant
THANKS POST
#144 Old 4th Jun 2020 at 12:47 AM
Thank you sooo much for this whole work of yours. Sorry for my English, it's not my mother tongue ..now i' just have one more Question to ask. If i' dont have anything in the VirtualStore Folder, is that good or bad?
Trainee Moderator
staff: trainee moderator
Original Poster
#145 Old 25th Jun 2020 at 12:46 PM
@kaligi

If there's nothing in that folder, then you're good to go!

Catalogue of Custom Neighborhoods for TS2
All Hood Building Group neighborhoods are available here
Want to get rid of EA's sims in neighborhoods? Check out my Clean and Empty Steatlh Hoods and Clean and Empty Neighborhood Templates
My Simblr
Lab Assistant
#146 Old 25th Jun 2020 at 6:34 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jawusa
@kaligi

If there's nothing in that folder, then you're good to go!


Thank you very much @Jawusa
Scholar
THANKS POST
#147 Old 30th Jun 2020 at 1:08 AM
Does this also prevent the Tricou downtownies from spawning?
I want to make a custom downtown but am worried the Tricou teens will spawn & it will cause corruption since the gravestones for their relatives won't be generated.
Page 6 of 7