MTS has all free content, all the time. Find out how YOU can help to keep it running. Tell me how...

Resources for WA Worlds' Routing Fix (updated 2014.01.28)

by ellacharmed Posted 20th Jul 2011 at 11:57 AM - Updated 27th Jan 2014 at 5:23 PM by ellacharmed : disapearing lot fix
67 Comments / replies (Who?) - 17 Feedback Posts, 1 Thanks Posts
Intro
So, we've been having quite a number of lag issues in Help since Generations was released that apparently cannot be solved by using mods. Something about this EP or patch 1.22 makes all the stuck Sims congregate to the spots more frequently, and who wants to do resetSim * every 30 mins?

Tired of waiting for others to offer the fixed resources, and tired of the same dang threads in Help, I finally took the plunge and took a look at the .world files in CAW. Well, the pictures would speak for themselves.

Instead of typing out and repeating the instructions for each Resource Fix I plan to upload, I've decided to write the instructions on the Wiki. Game Help:World Routing Lagswiki. An excerpt is below.


Issue

Based on these threads,
and that games needed to be reset, every few hours, even with the suggestions in Game Help:Intermittent Freezeswiki, I took a look at more .world files and found the same Routing breakdowns that HP found in her Bridgeport Fix.


Solution
The only long-term solution for this sort of lags is to edit the world file in Create-A-World. And as such, this download does not go into /Mods/Packages folder like other CC. There's some work you need to do in order to get the fixes in your game.
Click on Game Help:World Routing Lagswiki for Full Instructions on how to Edit with S3PE. The following is the summary of those full instructions.

Pre-requisites
  1. An archiver program like WinRAR or 7-zip; that can handle .zip files. Game_Help:DFDD1_What_you_Need/Archiverwiki
  2. From Simlogical: S3PE
  3. The fixed resources ie, this download



Steps
  1. In the User Documents path, do a backup of your The Sims 3 folder. This is to backup your CC and Saves.
  2. Go to the following path, and make a copy of the original EA worlds; by copying, pasting and renaming them. You can append the ".orig" at the end, for example.
    Code:
    \Program Files (x86)\Electronic Arts\The Sims 3 World Adventures\GameData\Shared\NonPackaged\Worlds
    • If you don't have the DVD version, please visit the Game_Help:World_Routing_Lags/Wherewiki wiki page for the path to other distribution System and/or Operating System, e.g. Origin, Steam, OSX
  3. Download and install an Archiver program.
  4. Download and install s3pe.
  5. Download the zip file(s) and extract the contents to a temporary location on your Desktop; create one for each WA world. Make sure not to mix up the fixes for the worlds.
    • There should be 315 files for China. Additional resources for China are from the edited Lots:
      • baseCamp_64x64_ade5002963814510.lot
      • HotSpringsLot_A_ade500296bbfa260.lot (Dragon Springs)
      • HotSpringsLot_B_ade500295bb04c30.lot (Hot Springs)
    • There should be 265 files for Egypt.
    • There should be 25 files for France.
  6. For all 3 worlds, the common Resource Types that were edited are:
    • 0x05CD4BB3 (World - Routing info)
    • 0x05DA8AF6 (World - Routing info)
    • 0x9063660E (World Roads & Walkways)
    • 0x01661233 0x00000002 MODL scene Object Model (aka Object Geometry)
  7. China and Egypt's maps have the terrain tweaked a tad, so they have these resources, too
    • 0x033B2B66 0x00000001 (?)
    • 0xAE39399F 0x00000001 (World geometry)
  8. Open <worldname>.world from the above path in Program Files folder, in s3pe.
  9. Import the resources you extracted in (5) above and replace.
  10. Save in S3PE and quit. Repeat for the other 2 worlds.
  11. If you need to redo for any reason, just discard whatever has been done and make another copy of the .orig file and rename it back so it is without the .orig extension. If all attempts fail, get the worlds already updated with these fixes in WA Worlds with Routing Fix applied


Notes & Changelog:
  • Jan 28, 2014 update:
  • Jan 10, 2014 update:
    • Fixed broken routing inadvertently caused by fixing the steep terrain at the mouth of the Dragon's Maw; as reported by @GalenZ & @pirate34.
  • Dec 25, 2013 update:
    • 100% redo from scratch, on Patch 1.63.5.
    • The fixes at the edges of the maps were already done in the older versions, just not documented in the Dotted maps. Since the maps were smaller then, and I didn't use the Photomerge capability in Photoshop back then to create the world maps.
    • The update for Seasons and Island Paradise now make use of bodies of water, so since the rivers are not deep enough for boats, boats tend to just move in circles. River banks, where appropriate, are now painted with No-Sim-routing paint, since they are too steep for Sims & Pets. Some areas that have gently sloped terrain still enable Sims to go swimming, snorkeling, windsurfing out to the river if the water depth support such activities.
    • Bridges in Egypt: had some no-routing paint under them.

      I also re-sculpted the terrain around it to ensure the routing spline does not dip too sharply. Based on learnings from this thread.
    • In Egypt, some sidewalks/roads near mountains have been flatten and smoothed out, with the mountain slopes pushed further away from the roads.
    • Hot Springs in China: door swapped out for an arch. That is the door, right? If not, please let me know...
    • Base camp in China: conformed Lot Edges
    • A routable pathway now exists between the Temple of Heaven and Dragon Springs Lots in China. I tried to place down sidewalks and terrain paint, but the resources don't import properly, so I abandoned that.
    • Thanks to tryguy's and Menaceman44's feedback, it was found that some roads and sidewalks have no-sim-routing under them. So, where I can spot any, these have also been corrected.
    • These fixes and the corresponding worlds are still in "TESTING"; since I haven't tested these as extensively. Because: https://twitter.com/ellacharm3d/sta...175487256293377
  • Oct 18, 2011 update:
    • Compatible with Patch 1.26.89.Would most likely be compatible with any patches in the future as well.
    • If you had renamed the modified worlds to *.fixed before patching (or installing new add-on), you can simply renamed the pair of them back to *.orig and .world respectively, as the Wiki instructions state
  • Jul 31st 2011 update:
    • Compatible with Patch 1.24.3. Doesn't look like the .world files are touched by the 1.24 patch, or any patches so far, for that matter.
    • From PMs, where some have asked if I corrected overlapping, disconnected Roads, detached Lots (those not aligned with the Roads properly), etc - the answer is No.
      This is just the Resources for the Sims-non-routable and no-camera-routable painting. So if there are other fixes that offer other corrections, you can mix and match the Resources and import them into the .world files. I might take a look at doing a more comprehensive fix in the future, that cause more glitches not related to the programming aspects (if I find any, or if no other Downloads offer them, or if it is a slow day in Help sections ). So keep those feedback coming, you guys (in the threads preferably instead of PMs so others may learn the spots as well). Thanks.
  • France has an extra resource for the Roads resource, because of this little gem.


Feedback
As always, feedback is welcomed.
Please report any other areas that you get stuck Sims at that I might have missed.

Additional Credits:
Armiel, simsample, HP, drowsap and all others in CAW who figured out how to edit pre-packed worlds, writing tutorials and sharing their CAW expertise.
HP and her Bridgeport Fix which showed me the steps on how to do this.
Rainbow_Brite's "WaitToTravel" mod that I tweaked to allow me to travel within 5min of arriving back home.
Inge & Peter for S3PE, of course.

Type: Fixed

You must have the expansion, game version or stuff packs listed below installed to use this custom content. Please see the post text for any exceptions.

Sims 3 World Adventures
Built with Game Version: 1.63
Key: - File was updated after upload was posted
Filename - Tip: You can click the magnifying glass to see the archive contents Size Downloads Date
FranceFixedRouting.zip

Size: 2.30 MB · Downloads: 2,589 · 20th Jul 2011
2.30 MB 2,589 20th Jul 2011
EgyptFixedRouting.zip

Size: 14.31 MB · Downloads: 2,514 · 20th Jul 2011
14.31 MB 2,514 20th Jul 2011
ChinaFixedRouting.zip

Size: 15.86 MB · Downloads: 2,905 · 20th Jul 2011
15.86 MB 2,905 20th Jul 2011
Don't forget to Thank the creator after downloading! Use the Thanks button located above the screenshots above.
Basic Download and Install Instructions:

See: Game Help:TS3 CC Basicswiki for a full guide!
 
67 Comments / Replies (Who?) - 43 Feedback Posts, 22 Thanks Posts
Hide Thanks Posts for this thread (Show only feedback)
Page 3 of 3
Test Subject
#51 Old 6th Jan 2014 at 5:16 AM
The Route to Dragons Maw is broken in this spot Numerous attempts to route my sim past the broken area have failed.
In the Arena
retired moderator
Original Poster
#52 Old 7th Jan 2014 at 6:32 AM
Am looking into this.
Thanks for the pic. That narrows down exactly where I need to look.
In the Arena
retired moderator
Original Poster
#53 Old 10th Jan 2014 at 4:16 PM
Fixes for the Dragon's Maw routing error uploaded.
Before redownloading, please click on the magnifying-glass icon and check that the date stamp is listed as "01-09-2014", just to ensure the website's caches have caught up with the updated version.
In the Arena
retired moderator
Original Poster
#54 Old 27th Jan 2014 at 5:26 PM
Default Case of the Disappearing Lot
I made a mistake for France's fixes: included resources that were never edited and it made one Lot disappear and become a pool. Based on comment by glitch on http://ellacharmed.wordpress.com/2013/12/25/france/
Sorry for that...

I've updated with the corrected .zip for France. Please redownload.
Lab Assistant
#55 Old 17th Feb 2014 at 4:29 AM
I installed these and now I can't save if I'm playing in any of them even though I followed the installation instructions.
In the Arena
retired moderator
Original Poster
#56 Old 21st Feb 2014 at 1:49 PM
Saving while in a WA destination? Pull them back out to revert to the original WA worlds, either one by one or all of them at once if you encounter this issue with all three. Can the Save proceed with the Originals back in?

Are these on new Homeworld Saves; what's the Homeworld?
or a pre-existing-Save, but a new just-traveled-to-WA-destination-after-the-fixed-resources-are-imported?
And is it occurring on any and all Homeworld?

What S3PE version? Did you do them over, same result?
Or, have you also test with the .world files I supplied?
Alchemist
#57 Old 3rd Jan 2015 at 4:24 AM
@ellacharmed: The terrain on the Dragon Springs is messed up. The entire lot is hardly playable by now, though the tomb is still playable assuming you can climb the stairs by teleportation, but the rest of the lot is hardly navigable.





Just call me Nikel
Test Subject
#58 Old 6th Jan 2015 at 7:34 AM Last edited by TreyNutz : 7th Jan 2015 at 12:16 AM.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikel23
@ellacharmed: The terrain on the Dragon Springs is messed up. The entire lot is hardly playable by now, though the tomb is still playable assuming you can climb the stairs by teleportation, but the rest of the lot is hardly navigable.


If you load up the standard EA China and copy those lots (Dragon Springs and the other one with the pools of koi) to the bin, you can replace them in ellcharmed's version and they'll work fine. At least that worked in my game.

edit: actually the Hot Springs tomb failed to generate a relic for my sim to collect for the related adventure, after I replaced the lot. Dunno if replacing the lot had anything to do with the issue though.
Alchemist
#59 Old 20th Feb 2015 at 9:49 AM
I think Ellacharmed disabled routing on riverbanks in Champs Les Sims. I guess it's so that you don't cheat to the little island by swimming or boating, but this caused my Sims unable to fish in the river! I think it's a better decision to just disable routing along the edge of the island instead of the whole riverbanks.

Just call me Nikel
In the Arena
retired moderator
Original Poster
#60 Old 30th May 2015 at 6:04 PM
issue noted
Noted @nikel23's issue report. Don't know when I'll get to my desktop PC, but I've jotted this down in my Project notes. Thanks so much for the images!

Oh! Re: the riverbanks? No fishing along all of them, now?
Alchemist
#61 Old 31st May 2015 at 1:46 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ellacharmed
Noted nikel23's issue report. Don't know when I'll get to my desktop PC, but I've jotted this down in my Project notes. Thanks so much for the images!

Oh! Re: the riverbanks? No fishing along all of them, now?

Ah, thank you for noticing my post! At least I can be certain that you're aware of this issue now.

Yes, I cannot fish on the riverbanks at all. The edges just next to the riverbanks are unroutable when I hover my pointer around there. For this reason, I used the original Champs Les Sims, and as far as I remember, the last time I played (around 3-4 weeks ago), I could fish on the riverbank just fine.

Just call me Nikel
Alchemist
#62 Old 21st Aug 2015 at 10:41 AM
I just went to Egypt, and I found out that the routing on the water edges are also blocked, which disallows my Sims to swim, boat, or fish in the sea.

Just call me Nikel
Theorist
#63 Old 27th Dec 2015 at 11:12 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikel23
@ellacharmed: The terrain on the Dragon Springs is messed up. The entire lot is hardly playable by now, though the tomb is still playable assuming you can climb the stairs by teleportation, but the rest of the lot is hardly navigable.





Oh why oh why didn't I read this whole thread before? I just downloaded these a few weeks ago and yesterday had Sims in China and this is EXACTLY the mess I encountered and this was just one of the lots with problems. This needs either fixed or removed from downloads.
Lab Assistant
#64 Old 14th Feb 2016 at 1:37 AM
Was this issue ever resolved, or has the creator stopped supporting the upload?

I never played China enough to get to the Hot Springs adventure until now and it's all messed up! It's been ages since I originally downloaded this and I'm on my third generation of sims on epic lifespan since then, so I'm not really interested in redownloading and having to start a new game, just to find that it's never been fixed.
In the Arena
retired moderator
Original Poster
#65 Old 14th Feb 2016 at 4:15 AM
Working on it, having some technical difficulties. The main primary PC is acting up, and I haven't had a chance to troubleshoot. Having to save money to get replacement parts for my 6-year-old hardware have delayed the timetable...

Thank you for your patience...
Test Subject
THANKS POST
#66 Old 22nd Jun 2017 at 4:31 PM
I have a question... if I just downloaded the files for these 3 worlds from your blog today, do I still need to do this as well? Or were the files on your blog already updated with it?
Test Subject
#67 Old 26th Feb 2020 at 4:51 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ellacharmed
Working on it, having some technical difficulties. The main primary PC is acting up, and I haven't had a chance to troubleshoot. Having to save money to get replacement parts for my 6-year-old hardware have delayed the timetable...

Thank you for your patience...

Looks like this was never fixed? Should I just use your France and Egypt fixes?
Test Subject
#68 Old 17th Nov 2020 at 9:26 PM
WHAT? Is this for us to do manually or does this 'mod' do it automatically
Page 3 of 3