MTS has all free content, all the time. Find out how YOU can help to keep it running. Tell me how...

Henricks ‒ 6BR 4BA, no CC

by plasticbox Posted 25th Nov 2015 at 3:13 AM - Updated 27th Nov 2015 at 2:01 PM by plasticbox
33 Comments / replies (Who?) - 16 Feedback Posts, 8 Thanks Posts
This is a spacious little house, suitable for a larger family or some roommates.




The house has a combined kitchen / dining room and living room on the ground floor, another living room / study on the first floor, and a hobby area as well as an attic on the top floor. Furnished for seven sims with two empty (bed)rooms; there are various hobby items included throughout the house.

Does anyone know of a way to get rid of the stupid floortile above the stairs on the top floor? It annoys me rather a lot that it's there where it isn't supposed to be, but whichever way I tried to remove it I only borked the walls on that floor >.< .. if you can figure it out, post in the comments with screenshots and I'll build a house for you. Deal?


Installation: Unzip and put the package in /Mods. See here for how to package lots (this works the same way for sims). To uninstall, delete the package ‒ if you “delete” a lot from the Library, it is only being hidden and will remain hidden if you decide to re-download. See also this post (same thread):

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkWalker
The game creates a TrayDeletedItems file telling which items were “deleted” (in truth, hidden from the Gallery). If you ever want to see those items again, delete the “TrayDeletedItems” file.



Lot Size: 20x30
Lot Price (furnished): 90.327§
Lot Price (unfurnished): 34.666§
Tags: #house, #bar, #balcony, #large house

Number of bedrooms: 5 or more
Custom Content Included: None
Furnishings: Fully Furnished
Special Flags: Not Applicable

You must have the expansion or stuff packs listed below installed to use this custom content. Please see the post text for any exceptions.

Sims 4
Key: - File was updated after upload was posted
Filename - Tip: You can click the magnifying glass to see the archive contents Size Downloads Date
pbox_lot-residential_henricks.zip

Size: 240.2 KB · Downloads: 6,069 · 25th Nov 2015
240.2 KB 6,069 25th Nov 2015
Don't forget to Thank the creator after downloading! Use the Thanks button located above the screenshots above.
Basic Download and Install Instructions:
1. Download: Click the File tab to see the download link. Click the link to save the .rar or .zip file(s) to your computer.
2. Extract: Use WinRAR (Windows) to extract the .bpi .trayitem and .blueprint file(s) from the .rar or .zip file(s).
3. Place in Tray Folder: Cut and paste all files into your Tray folder:
  • Windows XP: Documents and Settings\(Current User Account)\My Documents\Electronic Arts\The Sims 4\Tray\
  • Windows Vista/7/8/8.1: Users\(Current User Account)\Documents\Electronic Arts\The Sims 4\Tray\
 
33 Comments / Replies (Who?) - 22 Feedback Posts, 9 Thanks Posts
Hide Thanks Posts for this thread (Show only feedback)
Page 1 of 2
Mad Poster
THANKS POST
#2 Old 25th Nov 2015 at 9:52 PM
Very nice house and great use of space. It reminds me a little of one of the "off-campus" houses in Sims 2 university that I loved. (The name is the same as a cucumber flavored gin, too).
Test Subject
THANKS POST
#3 Old 26th Nov 2015 at 12:35 AM
love this so many bedrooms
Test Subject
THANKS POST
#4 Old 26th Nov 2015 at 1:48 AM
Gonna download and find a way to remove that floor tile
Inventor
THANKS POST
#5 Old 26th Nov 2015 at 9:00 AM Last edited by stitch_too : 26th Nov 2015 at 9:36 AM.
I know how to remove the floor tile thingy.

Just place a wall there, then use the hammer on the tile, go up to the roor, (i assume its flat), place a flat piece of floor there, where the hole is, then go back down and hammer the piece of wall away.

If you've already tried this, i don't know what else to suggest, but that should work.

ps, don't drag the roof to the edge. it'll only put the floor back.
Pettifogging Legalist!
retired moderator
Original Poster
#6 Old 26th Nov 2015 at 12:36 PM
The roof pieces need to be where they are, which is why this is more complicated than just removing the wall you describe. The top floor already has flooring, as well.

In case I misunderstand what you mean, please do post again with a screenshot =).

Stuff for TS2 · TS3 · TS4 | Please do not PM me with technical questions – we have Create forums for that.

In the kingdom of the blind, do as the Romans do.
Lab Assistant
THANKS POST
#7 Old 26th Nov 2015 at 1:25 PM
I hate those stupid floor tiles. Everytime I build a house I end up with a stupid floor tile I can't seem to get rid of. I gave up building and just download yours now. lol
Test Subject
#8 Old 26th Nov 2015 at 10:51 PM
This is how I do it
Pettifogging Legalist!
retired moderator
Original Poster
#9 Old 26th Nov 2015 at 11:00 PM
Did you try that with *this particular house*? The problem here is the roof walls, for all I can tell .. as soon as you remove the floortile in question, the game thinks that "room" is outdoors and for some braindead reason renders the roofwalls instead of the walls.

Stuff for TS2 · TS3 · TS4 | Please do not PM me with technical questions – we have Create forums for that.

In the kingdom of the blind, do as the Romans do.
Inventor
#10 Old 26th Nov 2015 at 11:55 PM
not in the right order, but this is the way i tried to remove the tile, by creating a two storey thing. it got pissy on me, when i added the flat bit on the roof, by putting the tiles back.
Screenshots

'You're a pretty pair of babies, playing with your live doll' Mrs Higgins, My fair Lady
Smeg Head
THANKS POST
#11 Old 27th Nov 2015 at 5:17 AM
That, there little floor tile is a xenomorph; "You don't dare kill it." I've tried all the quick tricks I know. Maybe you have to nuke that whole floor from orbit, it's the only way to be sure.
Inventor
#12 Old 27th Nov 2015 at 10:31 AM
i did it. i did what i said in my first post, but slightly different. i hammered the piece of wall before closing the hole in the roof, then i added an actual roof and no problems. i suggest to take the roof off, remove the floor tile, then add the roof back after you close the hole. should work.
Screenshots

'You're a pretty pair of babies, playing with your live doll' Mrs Higgins, My fair Lady
Smeg Head
#13 Old 27th Nov 2015 at 12:59 PM
Just encountered something of an unfriendly side effect of having lots bundled as a package file. I tried having a go fixing that floor tile last night, but eventually gave up, mostly due to tiredness but a bit of sad defeat also. Deleted house from library then had myself a good sleep. Today, with fresh head, I fancied another go at the puzzle, so downloaded again and placed in mods folder again. Back in game again, the house will not show, it is not there, not under advanced tab or nothing. Suffers the same fate as the Maxis homes and community lots if ever deleted from library.
Meaning it will probably need either an Origin game fix, or a reinstall of The Sims 4 folder, maybe both, to allow the lot to show in the library again. I wanted to get my head around this floor tile puzzle once more, one last time around the block, if you will. But not that badly.

Perhaps best to just remove the package file from mods folder if you want the lot removed from library. Deleting it direct from library, and the game remembers you did that. It will staunchly remember you deleted it and will not let you have it again unless you take a drastic measure or two to have it back.
Pettifogging Legalist!
retired moderator
Original Poster
#14 Old 27th Nov 2015 at 1:06 PM
@stitch_too -- did you try that with *this particular house*?

Regarding "deletion" in game: that is a known issue; see the post I linked to (on how to create lot packages) for more info on how that "deletion" actually works (there is nothing being deleted; it is just removed from an index -- no matter whether or not it's packaged). Your solution seems like the best way to deal with that: remove the package from your Mods folder if you want to get rid of the house. Alternatively, nuke the index and everything that's been "deleted" (hidden) from your library will show up again.

I'm not sure how this works for lots that are loose files in /Tray .. what happens when you delete them in-game and then redownload them? They woudl also retain the same ID .. I never download lots so I don't know.

Stuff for TS2 · TS3 · TS4 | Please do not PM me with technical questions – we have Create forums for that.

In the kingdom of the blind, do as the Romans do.
Inventor
#15 Old 27th Nov 2015 at 1:27 PM
I havent, but i will download it later, when my friend is here. Then ill try it.

'You're a pretty pair of babies, playing with your live doll' Mrs Higgins, My fair Lady
Smeg Head
#16 Old 27th Nov 2015 at 1:36 PM
Just replacing the missing/deleted tray folder files places the lot back into library. After deleting a lot/sim from library, there is always a remnant file or two in the tray folder. But even if you completely clear out the tray folder, then put a lot or sim's complete set of tray files back in again, they always reappear in the library.

When I was a teen, I got hold of a book that taught how to complete a Rubik's Cube. It's actually not that difficult once you master three or four basic rules. But from that day on, I amazed fellow students and teachers at how I could do it blindfolded once they told me the three colours of one starting corner. (Is that considered cheating? They took me for a genius, and all I did was read a six page pamphlet.) This floor tile puzzle has got me hooked. I'll give it another go. (Say, you don't know where I can pick up a pamphlet on it, do you?)
Pettifogging Legalist!
retired moderator
Original Poster
#17 Old 27th Nov 2015 at 1:45 PM Last edited by plasticbox : 27th Nov 2015 at 2:10 PM.
Thanks for the info on un-/re-/un-re-undeleting from Tray -- I'll go put a note in my upload posts then, telling downloaders to delete packages by deleting the package and not in game.

LOL, I'm trying to get someone to *write* the pamphlet here! XD


/me braces for coolspear to figure it out and then request a Buckingham Ocean Liner in Space

Stuff for TS2 · TS3 · TS4 | Please do not PM me with technical questions – we have Create forums for that.

In the kingdom of the blind, do as the Romans do.
Smeg Head
#18 Old 27th Nov 2015 at 7:41 PM
Sorry, plasticbox, I'm having absolutely no joy. Not while trying to keep to the mandate of not changing any of the original architecture. I'm sure you know it yourself, running a wall up there right across where the fence is and using an archway will work a treat. But without going that far, that floor tile has set itself up as the very centre of the universe and any attempt to remove it brings about the end of time, reality and existence. It certainly feels that way after two hours of tinkering.

Though, my own personal taste, after removing the floor tile there is always the greyish shadowy ceiling/floor thickness remnant left. This has been a mainstay through fifteen years of the franchise and I hate those ceiling/floor remnants with a passion. I'd rather the floor tile remain. the lesser of two evils. And then go on to make a feature of the floor tile so it becomes an asset to the build. Turn defeat on its ass.

And on that note, as I scoot off to go indulge in some Friday night beers and fail miserably at pool, I will turn my horrid defeat into a gracious exit with a serving suggestion on an alternative approach. Make it an asset to the build. After all, that tile is the all important centre of the universe and should be respected accordingly. I actually want to keep that tile now. I may even start praying to it, it has won me over that much.





Right, beer time...
Test Subject
THANKS POST
#19 Old 27th Nov 2015 at 9:33 PM
Oh just tried it in your house, I think it's impossible. Could put a wall leaving a 1x1 instead of one tile floor? I wish we could add and remove floors like normal in TS4
Test Subject
THANKS POST
#20 Old 27th Nov 2015 at 10:27 PM
I don't even have Sims 4 and I have to say thanks plasticbox is awesome
Pettifogging Legalist!
retired moderator
Original Poster
#21 Old 27th Nov 2015 at 10:44 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolspear1
Though, my own personal taste, after removing the floor tile there is always the greyish shadowy ceiling/floor thickness remnant left.


Oh, but you can remove that -- at least when there are stairs involved (and I've never seen that floor edge except around stairs); here's how:


1. The situation (I'm using a slightly different floorplan to show this, because with the 1-tile thing it is difficult to see):




2. Build a wall to make a new "floor removal workspace" room:




3. Remove floor:




4. Remove wall (and watch all of the other walls/roofs go wonky >.< ):




5. Now grab the actual room -- the part that has a floor -- at the non-wall edge (where you just removed the wall) ..




6. .. and pull it in to the top of the stairs:




7: After a bit of cleanup (wall paint etc), this is what it looks like -- no floor edge:




You just can't have any roofs clip into that floor-less area, or any other rooms next to it that aren't separated by a wall .. in the case of this house, the roof on top of that dreaded "center of the universe" ( ) tile can be pushed outwards and the last bit replaced by a 2x2 half-hipped roof with its left half outside / right half in the attic room .. but I don't have a solution for the roofs next to the diagonal walls =/.

So this works, because the parts with diagonal walls are safely hidden (behind walls) from the floortiles of evil -- I hadn't put in the half-hipped roofs yet to fill the gaps, but I guess it's easy to imagine where they go:


Stuff for TS2 · TS3 · TS4 | Please do not PM me with technical questions – we have Create forums for that.

In the kingdom of the blind, do as the Romans do.
Smeg Head
#22 Old 27th Nov 2015 at 10:51 PM Last edited by coolspear1 : 27th Nov 2015 at 11:18 PM.
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasticbox
/me braces for coolspear to figure it out and then request a Buckingham Ocean Liner in Space


Come the new 64x64 lots sizes in next EP, and the 64-bit exe upgrade, AND the sassy new skylights, there may very will be a Galaxy Class Club Luxury Liner on the horizon. 64 is the magic number come December. That 64-bit news had me jumping for joy. Still does...

I always love that stairs/balcony overhang architecture, especially when looking down into a basement. Could do it in TS2, but never in TS3, I'm glad the overhang to basement is back in TS4. In this build, you lose some of that bedroom space, but the pretty balcony overhang eye-candy is well worth it. Ha! Like the Sims care how pretty it is. But we don't build these houses for them, do we?
Smeg Head
DELETED POST
27th Nov 2015 at 11:16 PM
This message has been deleted by coolspear1. Reason: Whoops, double post be gone.
Inventor
#23 Old 28th Nov 2015 at 1:53 AM
Houston... I mean @plasticbox, i has a problem.

I downloaded ur house earlier, its unzipped in my mods folder but its not showing up in my game. It is supposed to be unzipped, innit?

'You're a pretty pair of babies, playing with your live doll' Mrs Higgins, My fair Lady
Pettifogging Legalist!
retired moderator
Original Poster
#24 Old 28th Nov 2015 at 2:01 AM
Check that you have the "Custom Content" option in the Library enabled. Bottom left.

Stuff for TS2 · TS3 · TS4 | Please do not PM me with technical questions – we have Create forums for that.

In the kingdom of the blind, do as the Romans do.
Inventor
#25 Old 28th Nov 2015 at 2:22 AM
Thank you. Ill sort it tomorrow. i take it library is the gallery?

'You're a pretty pair of babies, playing with your live doll' Mrs Higgins, My fair Lady
Page 1 of 2