Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Lab Assistant
Original Poster
#1 Old 20th Sep 2014 at 1:25 AM Last edited by justJones : 6th May 2018 at 11:20 PM.
Default Make a mod that runs a function when the game is loaded!
Hi there! This is the first Python tutorial I write (heh, I just started learning the language some days ago), so please bear with my babbling.

OK, so let's get started...

What You'll Need
  • A working knowledge of Python (something above the print('hello world') stage; you need to know about callbacks, all the types of arguments that can be passed in a function, and the general OOP style of Python)
  • The Sims 4's Python code (decompiled)

First things first, let's import 'sims4'. The sims4 directory in "core" is a module on its own containing other modules. So yes, you can import a directory name here!

Code:
import sims4

Note how I didn't write "import core.sims4" (since the "sims4" folder is found inside another folder called "core"). When TS4 loads, it loads "core", "base", and "simulation" as one big root, meaning that you don't need to actually specify these names when including their modules in your scripts. Imagine all three of these being in one giant directory instead!

Now, let's define the function we would like to... Oh, wait a minute! Slow down, there! We need to declare something before that.