Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Test Subject
Original Poster
#1 Old 29th Oct 2020 at 12:59 AM
Default hey,I need help with a royal mod!
So I am making a royal mod for the sims 3,but I need a lot of help because I am a newbie. First I really need help connecting a trait to a buff like in sims 4,where if you have a trait a buff shows up. I would like if someone helped me with this part so that I can advanced.
Advertisement
Field Researcher
#2 Old 29th Oct 2020 at 1:08 AM Last edited by lizcandor : 29th Oct 2020 at 2:40 PM.
Quote: Originally posted by SimShady19
So I am making a royal mod for the sims 3,but I need a lot of help because I am a newbie. First I really need help connecting a trait to a buff like in sims 4,where if you have a trait a buff shows up. I would like if someone helped me with this part so that I can advanced.

I learned to do that recently! You can make this happen by using an event listener (the tutorial on basic script modding explains) for the event EventTypeId.kTraitGained. Then have your ListenerAction (in the tutorial, that's OnSimEnteredVacationWorld) figure out what the trait that was gained was by adding "TraitNames trait = (e as TraitGainedEvent).TraitName", check if that trait is your royalty trait, and if it is add the buff using Sim.BuffManager.AddElement.

Oh! And if you want the buff to expire and have a chance of coming back (instead of just using a permanent buff) you might be able to do that by having your ListenerAction on kTraitGained add a repeating alarm to the actor of the event (e.Actor as Sim), and having the alarm callback try to apply the buff every time it fires. Explanation of alarms is also in that same tutorial, and there's more on this kind of use of alarms in the forums if you search.
Test Subject
Original Poster
#3 Old 30th Oct 2020 at 12:08 AM