Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Quick Reply
Search this Thread
Field Researcher
Original Poster
#1 Old 20th Jun 2022 at 7:43 PM Last edited by lizcandor : 20th Jun 2022 at 8:11 PM.
Default Using IK targets in-game
Hello!

I'm trying to figure out a method for using IK targets in interaction animations and having them actually look about the same in Blender as they do in-game, and I was wondering if anyone had any thoughts on how to improve it further - what I've got now is better than I started with, but not quite good enough yet. Based on (A)'s information in this thread, what I've done (apologies if any of my terminology is incorrect/unclear, I'm not that experienced with Blender) is:

1) In Blender, create an IK target for the left hand bone of my interaction actor's rig (following TheSweetSimmer's steps for this)
2) Constrain the hand bone to the IK target with an IK constraint influence of 0.1
3) Apply 5 constraints to the IK target itself: 3 "copy transforms" constraints for the 3 slots on the interaction target's rig that I want the actor's left hand IK chain to target at different points in the animation, and a "copy location" constraint and a "copy rotation" constraint to apply the location and rotation of the actor rig's left hand slot offset bone (L_slotOffset) to the IK target as offsets
4) Insert keyframes at different points in the animation to modify the influences of the 3 "copy transforms" constraints on the IK target, so that at every time point one of them is much stronger than the other two
5) Copy the influence keyframes from those 3 constraints to the Z position keyframes of the L_Info1, L_Info2, and L_Info3 bones on the actor rig