Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Lab Assistant
Original Poster
#1 Old 3rd Aug 2005 at 6:35 PM Last edited by LaVieBoheme : 3rd Aug 2005 at 6:42 PM. Reason: forgot graphic

This user has the following games installed:

Sims 2, University, Nightlife, Open for Business, Pets, Seasons, Bon Voyage
Default Game crashes in a highly unusual way! PC too good for the game?
A couple weeks ago I upgraded from a P2 to a P4 processor and basically got a totally new computer. After installing the Sims2 and University, I started playing and everything seemed to be working fabulously until my game crashed and displayed this at the top left corner of my screen.

EDIT: Forgot the graphic.

This weird barcodebox thing reacts to mousemovement and eventually makes my PC go completely dark and I have to soft restart. I didn't think anything of it so I went ahead and installed all my custom content. After that, my game crashed frequently and at really bizarre points: when a special video was about to play, when my sims get out of the shower or are all simultaneously doing something "taxing", and when I'm creating a Sim in the in-game creator. The BodyShop also crashes in the same fashion. It's seriously pissing me off.

I have uninstalled 3 times, contacted the Sims support people, updated my graphics drivers, and done everything I can think of but nothing's working. Here are my specs.. Is it possible to have a computer that's TOO good for the game?

Pentium 4, 2.66 GHz
2 gigs of RAM
RADEON 9600 graphics card
120 gig harddrive
Realtek AC'97 Audio card

:confused:
Screenshots
Advertisement
Test Subject
#2 Old 3rd Aug 2005 at 7:11 PM
woah.......that's really weird. I have no clue what's wrong, but I hope you can fix it! I would suggest going to a computer place and asking for help? They might know what is wrong. Hope you can fix it!
Lab Assistant