Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Test Subject
Original Poster
#1 Old 23rd May 2022 at 10:43 PM
Default Need Help With Resizing Existing Distant Terrain
Hello! I would like to preface this post by saying that I am very new to all of this - CAW, meshing and stuff, and this forum. (I've used MTS for a while of course but I've never posted until now, and I'm not sure I put this in the right category, so my apologies if it isn't the right one), and I'm not sure if the CAW community is that active nowadays? But I figure I'll try my luck here.
I had a question about distant terrain in Sims 3 CAW. Since this is my first complete world, I'd like to make a small world. I was thinking of making a mountain town-esque (I use this descriptor very lightly) type of world, loosely based on where I grew up.

I would like to use Sunset Valley's distant terrain, scaled down to fit small worlds. I've searched the forums for an idea on how to go about doing this, and I actually did find a thread. But none of the things listed there worked for me, and it hasn't been updated since 2013. From my understanding, I need to use S3OC and clone the package for Sunset Valley's distant terrain - TerrainDistant. I've done this and it's worked smoothly, but here's where I've hit a problem.
The thread I found gave me two options

1) Open the cloned TerrainDistant package in s3pe, then export the MODL to a s3asc file
2) Import MODL/s3asc to Milkshape, scale it down to 25%, then export and save over the original (I believe I have all the plugins needed for Milkshape as the .s3asc file imports and scales without problems)
3) Import MODL back to s3pe, then save the package file