Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Test Subject
Original Poster
#1 Old 6th Jun 2023 at 10:44 PM Last edited by bass_dandy : 6th Jun 2023 at 11:49 PM.
Announcing new tool: SimPAI
About a year ago I started looking into what it would take to make a custom career for the Sims 2. I make my living as a software engineer and thus went down a huge rabbit hole that ended with me building a web app that re-implements parts of SimPE with a more modern UI and no downloads required: introducing SimPAI (Sims 2 Package Alteration Interface)!

some details:
  • the source can be seen at https://github.com/bass-dandy/simpai
  • it is implemented as a monorepo with 2 packages: simpai (the web app itself) and dbpf-transform (the serialization/deserialization library I wrote for package files)
  • dbpf-transform is also published as an npm package in case anyone wants to use it to build more tools (and it includes typescript type definitions)
  • the currently supported resource types are:
    • BCON
    • BHAV
    • GLOB
    • JFIF(JPEG)/PNG/TGA images
    • NREF
    • OBJD
    • OBJF
    • STR#/CTSS/TTAS
    • TPRP
    • TRCN
    • TTAB
    • TTAS

some known limitations that I hope to address (eventually):
  • numeric inputs only display as hex
  • creating an empty BHAV or OBJD resources crashes the app
  • cannot import semi-globals
  • does not implement any of SimPE's BHAV operand wizards
  • does not show visual links between BHAV instructions (is that even useful? looks messy imo)
  • TTAB animal motive tables are not implemented correctly (does anyone have an example of these being used at all?)
  • I have only thoroughly tested on chrome, so there may be bugs on other browsers