MTS has all free content, all the time. Find out how YOU can help to keep it running. Tell me how...

WA Worlds with Routing Fix applied (updated 2014.01.28)

by ellacharmed Posted 1st Aug 2011 at 6:22 PM - Updated 27th Jan 2014 at 4:37 PM by ellacharmed : France's disapearing lot fix
98 Comments / replies (Who?) - 15 Feedback Posts, 10 Thanks Posts
What is this?

I offer you the World!
Well, just these 3 for World Adventure destinations. These .world files have had the Resources imported from this download thread [In Testing]Resources for WA Worlds' Routing Fix. Since no one has yet to complain of blown up worlds, I thought it is safe to offer up the .worlds.

See image of China with one of the spots highlighted in the yellow circle - top is in CAW, bottom in-game. Once Sims gets stuck there, they can't find a way out because the white dot in those blank squares is disconnect from any other routing. The blank squares mean Sims can enter that spot, and the white, disconnected dot means Sims cannot leave that spot. Each time the game engine stops to recalculate on how to get the Sims out, the game lags. So imagine if there are these various spots in your worlds and have stuck Sims in there that the game is trying to recalculate routing algorithms for all the Sims individually.

Doesn't that explains all the lags we've been having?

For the Full Instructions on how to get the downloads in-game, read Game Help:World Routing Lagswiki. A summary is below.





Backup!
Heed that backup instructions, really! You've been warned!


How to install?
  • Download all parts of the world you want and rename them to get rid of the "MTS_ellacharm3d_<numbers>_" portion. See Game Help:DFDD4 Download the File#Content with Multi-part fileswiki with pretty pictures.
  • Right-click on the file with "part1" in its name and "Extract here", or whatever command your program uses. See Game Help:DFDD5 Extract from Archive#Multi-part fileswiki with pretty pictures.
  • Place the extracted & joined .world file in this path and replace the default version. (You have backup, right?)
    Code:
    \Program Files (x86)\Electronic Arts\The Sims 3 World Adventures\GameData\Shared\NonPackaged\Worlds\
  • Delete caches before starting game.


How to remove?
  • Go to the above path.
  • Delete the *.world file.
  • Rename the "*.orig" copy by removing the .orig extension (or from whatever you have renamed it to).
  • Delete caches before starting game.


Notes & Changelog:


FAQs
Q: Do I need to have/buy the World Adventures EP for this to work?
A: Well, yes. The fixed world(s) won't work on its own. There has to be something to replace, after all.

Q: When I try to download, I get a 403 error.
A: This tells me the wiki to the multi-part files weren't clicked on and read, as at the bottom of the DFDD4 page states:
Quote:
If you get a 403 or 503 error, means that you're downloading too many files at one time and are using up all the download slots. There's a limit of 3 files at a time or 3 chunks per file per downloader to give other members a chance. You'll have to wait for six hours when the server reset its caches for you to be able to download again.
If after sometime, you still cannot download them, try downloading another MTS item - like a mod or a Lot. If the other item can be downloaded and this item still cannot be downloaded one at a time, then please log out from the site, clear caches, relogin and try again. If none of that help then, post with web browser name and version, archive program name and version, the error message, and whether you have logged out and cleared caches

Q: When I try to extract, I get an error.
A: Have you read the DFFD5 wiki? Have the files been renamed? If yes, to both questions, post with the filenames after the rename action and the exact error message, please. And also state what archiver program you use?

Q: Why don't you upload it as a single file, and avoid all that hassle?
A: There's a file size limitation onsite. The full world files are uploaded to Google Share, linked from my blog.

Additional Credits:
The Jones' for S3PE and the usual suspects.
Tags: #fixed, #routing, #lags, #worlds

You must have the expansion or stuff packs listed below installed to use this custom content. Please see the post text for any exceptions.

Sims 3 World Adventures

This is a multi-part download:


Follow DFDD5 Extract from Archive#Multi-part files.
Download just the parts for the .world you want, or download all files to get all 3 worlds.
Key: - File was updated after upload was posted
Filename - Tip: You can click the magnifying glass to see the archive contents Size Downloads Date
China.part6.rar

Size: 6.79 MB · Downloads: 16,499 · 25th Dec 2013
6.79 MB 16,499 25th Dec 2013
France.part6.rar

Size: 4.58 MB · Downloads: 20,472 · 1st Aug 2011
4.58 MB 20,472 1st Aug 2011
France.part5.rar

Size: 9.66 MB · Downloads: 21,078 · 1st Aug 2011
9.66 MB 21,078 1st Aug 2011
France.part4.rar

Size: 9.66 MB · Downloads: 20,620 · 1st Aug 2011
9.66 MB 20,620 1st Aug 2011
France.part3.rar

Size: 9.66 MB · Downloads: 20,372 · 1st Aug 2011
9.66 MB 20,372 1st Aug 2011
France.part2.rar

Size: 9.66 MB · Downloads: 20,130 · 1st Aug 2011
9.66 MB 20,130 1st Aug 2011
France.part1.rar | Download all SIX (6) parts, rename and extract to get France.world

Size: 9.66 MB · Downloads: 20,413 · 1st Aug 2011
9.66 MB 20,413 1st Aug 2011
Egypt.part6.rar

Size: 9.09 MB · Downloads: 21,107 · 1st Aug 2011
9.09 MB 21,107 1st Aug 2011
Egypt.part5.rar

Size: 9.66 MB · Downloads: 20,234 · 1st Aug 2011
9.66 MB 20,234 1st Aug 2011
Egypt.part4.rar

Size: 9.66 MB · Downloads: 20,368 · 1st Aug 2011
9.66 MB 20,368 1st Aug 2011
Egypt.part3.rar

Size: 9.66 MB · Downloads: 20,413 · 1st Aug 2011
9.66 MB 20,413 1st Aug 2011
Egypt.part2.rar

Size: 9.66 MB · Downloads: 20,532 · 1st Aug 2011
9.66 MB 20,532 1st Aug 2011
Egypt.part1.rar | Download all SIX (6) parts, rename and extract to get Egypt.world

Size: 9.66 MB · Downloads: 21,386 · 1st Aug 2011
9.66 MB 21,386 1st Aug 2011
China.part5.rar

Size: 9.66 MB · Downloads: 21,715 · 1st Aug 2011
9.66 MB 21,715 1st Aug 2011
China.part4.rar

Size: 9.66 MB · Downloads: 22,156 · 1st Aug 2011
9.66 MB 22,156 1st Aug 2011
China.part3.rar

Size: 9.66 MB · Downloads: 22,027 · 1st Aug 2011
9.66 MB 22,027 1st Aug 2011
China.part2.rar

Size: 9.66 MB · Downloads: 22,084 · 1st Aug 2011
9.66 MB 22,084 1st Aug 2011
China.part1.rar | Download all SIX (6) parts, rename and extract to get China.world

Size: 9.66 MB · Downloads: 23,589 · 1st Aug 2011
9.66 MB 23,589 1st Aug 2011
Don't forget to Thank the creator after downloading! Use the Thanks button located above the screenshots above.
Quick Guide:

1. Click the file listed on the Files tab to download the file to your computer.
2. Extract the zip, rar, or 7z file. Now you will have either a .package or a .sims3pack file.

For Package files:

1. Cut and paste the file into your Documents\Electronic Arts\The Sims 3\Mods\Packages folder. If you do not already have this folder, you should read the full guide to Package files first: Sims 3:Installing Package Fileswiki, so you can make sure your game is fully patched and you have the correct Resource.cfg file.
2. Run the game, and find your content where the creator said it would be (build mode, buy mode, Create-a-Sim, etc.).

For Sims3Pack files:

1. Cut and paste it into your Documents\Electronic Arts\The Sims 3\Downloads folder. If you do not have this folder yet, it is recommended that you open the game and then close it again so that this folder will be automatically created. Then you can place the .sims3pack into your Downloads folder.
2. Load the game's Launcher, and click on the Downloads tab. Find the item in the list and tick the box beside it. Then press the Install button below the list.
3. Wait for the installer to load, and it will install the content to the game. You will get a message letting you know when it's done.
4. Run the game, and find your content where the creator said it would be (build mode, buy mode, Create-a-Sim, etc.).


Extracting from RAR, ZIP, or 7z: You will need a special program for this. For Windows, we recommend 7-Zip and for Mac OSX, we recommend Keka. Both are free and safe to use.


Need more help?

If you need more info, see:
 
98 Comments / Replies (Who?) - 62 Feedback Posts, 33 Thanks Posts
Hide Thanks Posts for this thread (Show only feedback)
Page 1 of 4
Instructor
THANKS POST
#2 Old 1st Aug 2011 at 6:51 PM
Wow! I just might feel like sending my Sims on vacation again. Thank you very much!
Eminence Grise
THANKS POST
#3 Old 2nd Aug 2011 at 1:53 AM Last edited by Srikandi : 2nd Aug 2011 at 6:13 AM.
How a propos I was just getting bad hiccups in China last night. Hopefully this was the issue :D

Edit: hmm... I installed this world as per instructions and sent my sims back to china, but I am still getting a hiccupy game (as in comes to a halt for a few seconds, every few seconds). I wonder if a) I have a different problem, or b) the fix wouldn't work for a world I've already traveled to?

Edit 2: OK, on the hypothesis that there were still some sims stuck at the unroutable spots from the earlier world save, I used Master Controller to reset everything except the current lot... and that seems to have cured my hiccups Thanks Ella!
Test Subject
#4 Old 2nd Aug 2011 at 2:27 AM
Thank you so much! This has fixed a lot of my issues while on vacations.

I am wondering if you are going to be doing this for your Sunset Valley fix as well?
Lab Assistant
THANKS POST
#5 Old 2nd Aug 2011 at 6:38 AM
Thank you so much for doing all the work here, usually I have no problem fussing around with the game but lately... no, just not into it, so again, Thanks.
Test Subject
THANKS POST
#6 Old 2nd Aug 2011 at 7:39 AM
Moding is usefull; designing is great, but these efforts of yours deserve a very big thank for making this game working as it should.... Thank You!
In the Arena
retired moderator
Original Poster
#7 Old 2nd Aug 2011 at 11:49 AM
spagtscully,
Yes, I plan to. My timetable is to release the Resource Fixes first to get feedback on issues before I offer the .world files. As it is a huge hassle to upload multiple 10mb files each time, I'd rather do it when I've confirm the fixes work correctly.

You're all welcome. Keep those feedback coming on the fixes, so I know the worlds would be good to go.
Test Subject
#8 Old 2nd Aug 2011 at 6:06 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ellacharm3d
spagtscully,
Yes, I plan to. My timetable is to release the Resource Fixes first to get feedback on issues before I offer the .world files. As it is a huge hassle to upload multiple 10mb files each time, I'd rather do it when I've confirm the fixes work correctly.

You're all welcome. Keep those feedback coming on the fixes, so I know the worlds would be good to go.


Thanks for the quick reply! I tried to install the fixes myself and even following the directions I still couldn't get them to work until you came out with these, so it'll be awesome!

Again thank you!
Lab Assistant
THANKS POST
#9 Old 3rd Aug 2011 at 6:02 PM
This fix worked perfectly for me, and made adventuring fun! Thank you ever so much!
Instructor
THANKS POST
#10 Old 4th Aug 2011 at 1:28 AM
ella....,
I've downloaded the files (just China so far) twice. Each time using Stuffit Expander it says "the structure of the file is damaged.

I've tried using UnRarX and it says it's unable to find any file past the one I click on first.

Granted I'm on a Mac and feel a bit silly since these files have already been downloaded and have worked for numerous people. I'm a bit stumped, if you or anyone has any insight? Thanks.

EDIT: I've tried downloading France. The first 5 download, but file #6 takes me to a "Forbidden" window?...no idea. The same with Egypt, #6 goes to a "403-Forbidden" window...any ideas? Thanks.
In the Arena
retired moderator
Original Poster
#11 Old 4th Aug 2011 at 3:29 PM
Are you downloading a lot of files at one time, ejnarts1? Or using a download manager?
I just tested on my Mac, no issues downloading (3 files at a time, that's the MTS limitation so that the server can cope), or extracting. I use Keka.

Either you hit a busy time, and the server timed out; or you had too many downloads at a time. Try again, I guess?
Instructor
THANKS POST
#12 Old 4th Aug 2011 at 6:48 PM
I resolved it...working now. Again, thank you for this. Any chance you'd consider repairing Barnacle Bay, if you have it? =)
Test Subject
#13 Old 5th Aug 2011 at 8:59 PM
Could it be that this introduces a new routing issue in Egypt?
After using these world files I can't play the scenario of Macocrop headquarter (or whetever they are called). After going down the staircase in the house and trying to reach the statue to move on the referring place, I always find myself immediately being "teleported" to ground floor beside the staircase.

I have never seen this in any of my previous games.


btw:
In general: thx. It runs much smoother.
In the Arena
retired moderator
Original Poster
#14 Old 8th Aug 2011 at 4:29 AM
Are there any blue dots near this MorcuCorp HQ Lot?

I highly doubt so. I'd get more feedback of such things in the original Fixes download thread. Plus, there aren't any Blue dots near residential lots in Egypt.

Anyway, for me to check, I need to know which Lot, or which Adventure and which Lot is designated as the HQ for this Adventure?
Test Subject
#15 Old 8th Aug 2011 at 12:11 PM
hi.how to remove the cache files?please guide me with pictures.
i download the china and extract them and copy replace with that default china but still lag in the game.are the removing cache is involve in the lag?please help me.
thanks.
In the Arena
retired moderator
Original Poster
#16 Old 9th Aug 2011 at 7:15 AM
Oh, I should stop assuming everybody knows this. Here you go - Game Help:Sims 3 Delete Cache Fileswiki.

But the times that I loaded the game while forgetting to remove these caches, the changes loaded fine for me in my Saves and new game. It was just a precautionary, standard instruction.

You might be experiencing other lags as documented here Game Help:Intermittent Freezeswiki. If you need further help with lags in your game, not related to Routing lags or this particular download, do post in the Help section with all the troubleshooting that you had tried.
Lab Assistant
THANKS POST
#17 Old 9th Aug 2011 at 7:41 PM
Ella, quite frankly I think Electronic Arts should be considering paying you and incorporating your work. What you've taken on isn't just a game mod to make things pretty, or fun, but something that's intrinsic to the entire functioning of the game. Thank you so much.
In the Arena
retired moderator
Original Poster
#18 Old 10th Aug 2011 at 6:20 AM
Sorry I overlook your question, @ejnarts1. Alas, I don't have Barnacle Bay.

@Tiraslin, aww shucks, it'twas nothin' at all, ma'am. Ya'll gonna make me blush. I didn't do anything different than all the other modders have done with all the fixes they've shared with us - just fixed something that has bothered us all and decided to share.
Inventor
THANKS POST
#19 Old 10th Aug 2011 at 9:41 PM
Hey ella,

just downloaded this cause my lags were unbearable. What a huge difference.

Thank you very very much. I guess I will need to translate this and put it in my blog
Test Subject
#20 Old 12th Aug 2011 at 9:26 AM
Egypt - seems to be fine so far. I've had no problems with lags there anyway.

China - still lags. I've found this occurs within a specific time period during sim-night time, between 22:00 and 7:00. The game stops every 30 minutes or so sim-time. As the night progresses, after about 3 AM, the lags will occur more often, like every 15 or 20 minutes sim-time. This is the exact same behavior before the applied fixes. This is not in a saved game but in a brand new vacation.

I have not yet tested France. I haven't had a chance to play it at all since Generations.


Any thoughts on what might still be causing lags in China as described?
In the Arena
retired moderator
Original Poster
#21 Old 12th Aug 2011 at 9:50 AM
@HtheSim84,
it would help me tremendously if you can locate any stuck Sims in your game and show me the spots as @tryguy did in post#34 in the Fixes thread. That led to the discovery of a blank spot under the road pictured in my response. I had originally not look for blank spots under roads, specifically.

And let me just say right now, I won't be deleting all Roads or even random roads on a wild-goose-chase. So I'll need all the help here, people.

@crinrict, Hi! I can link it here when you're done.
Inventor
#22 Old 18th Aug 2011 at 7:58 AM
I played in China yesterday and after about 4 days the lags came back. Resetting help so there was probably another stuck Sim but I can't say where. I will check next time and let you know.

France was great. No lagging whatever.

It will take a moment until I can write a tutorial in German cause there's this stupid thing called RL which keeps bugging me atm
Test Subject
#23 Old 20th Aug 2011 at 7:20 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ellacharm3d
@HtheSim84,
it would help me tremendously if you can locate any stuck Sims in your game and show me the spots as @tryguy did in post#34 in the Fixes thread. That led to the discovery of a blank spot under the road pictured in my response. I had originally not look for blank spots under roads, specifically.

And let me just say right now, I won't be deleting all Roads or even random roads on a wild-goose-chase. So I'll need all the help here, people.


I get the wild-goose-chase part. It's a chore all by itself looking for stuck sims all over Sim China. But I found ya some.

They were at Dragon Springs. Two explorer sims and one paparazzi. The explorers were complaining about routing but I took no chances and reset all three. The lags stopped immediately. The game in China now runs smoother than I can remember.

Mind you, they were able to move on the lot (Dragon Springs) as far as I could tell. I believe the routing problem emerged when they attempted to go elsewhere. I've marked the spots they were standing on just in case they are relevant.



I hope you can hunt these spots down. I wish that I could help you more but I'm hopeless with CAW.

Your efforts to clean up all the Sims 3 worlds are beyond appreciated. TY so much. You should be on an EA payroll. :D
In the Arena
retired moderator
Original Poster
#24 Old 20th Aug 2011 at 8:30 AM
Thanks for the pics. I always have to keep them moving in stages from that Lot, a few steps at a time. Don't know if it's the terrain-painting or all the slopes.

I'll see what I can find, but I'm not promising anything, as I'm not sure I can make changes to Lots without borking something else. I'm still trying to fix one in that one-big-mashup of an Emporer's Plaza.
Test Subject
THANKS POST
#25 Old 20th Aug 2011 at 2:54 PM
Thanks.

At least, now I know where to look when the game starts to hick-up!
Page 1 of 4