Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Field Researcher
Original Poster
#1 Old 14th Apr 2010 at 11:46 AM
Default Tutorial: Object creation for absolute beginners
Object creation for absolute beginners

An easy-to-follow tutorial on how to make your own Sims 2 objects, written for those who have never cloned an object before – or those who have already tried and have run into problems along the way.

It contains:

* Screenshots that match the latest version of SimPE (April 2010)

* Detailed instructions and explanations for the entire object creation process:
How to clone an object
How to make a mesh in MilkShape and ensure it has the right dimensions
How to map your mesh with UV Mapper
How to register in the GUID database and get a GUID for your object (and why)
How to make a texture map for your object
How to pull it all together in SimPE to a working object

* Additional advice on:
What object to use as base for your clone
What objects are good to start out with and what objects should not be attempted until you have more experience
What EP to clone from and why basegame objects may be the best bases
How to use your GUID’s wisely
What size texture map to use
When to get a cup of coffee before moving on to the next bit

The tutorial is provided in PDF format.

I hope it will be of help to all those who want to try their hand at creating their own Sims 2 objects. It isn't all that daunting once you get started. Good luck with your endeavours and never hesitate to ask questions!
Attached files:
File Type: rar  Object Creation for Beginners.rar (2.41 MB, 6631 downloads) - View custom content

Moune's Neighbourhood
If you need a cool place for your sims to chill out.
Advertisement
Test Subject
#2 Old 16th Apr 2010 at 3:25 AM
"To me it has always been important to know not only WHAT to do, but also to understand WHY I have to do it."